Young Lawyers Section

Are you under 36 years old? Have you been in practice less than 11 years? Whether you’re just starting out or you’ve been in practice for a few years, this Section allows you to network with other young attorneys and gain needed insight and perspective from your colleagues. The FJA Young Lawyers Section is actively involved in the FJA’s goals of protecting the civil justice system. Section membership also provides many opportunities to network on a statewide level. 

Section Updates

The FJA Young Lawyers Section (YLS) is continuing to grow strong! The new 2017-2018 Chair, Heather Jones, and the YLS Board met in Orlando for their annual Young Lawyer Board Retreat. At the Retreat, the Board continued its progress on existing projects such as the Mock Trial Competition,Young Lawyer Lobby Days, and the Young Lawyer Task Force. The Board is also moving forward on more Young Lawyer focused CLE events; look out for information on our Sea & Ski seminars. Come be a part of the amazing changes in the Young Lawyers Section. Whether it is on the Young Lawyer ListServ, the Facebook Discussion Group, or in one of the Young Lawyer committees there are several ways to be active. To learn more about the YLS, contact FJA Special Counsel, G.C. Murray, Jr.

There is plenty of work to go around! Congratulations to the YL Board Committee appointments below. Reach out and let them know if you want to help with their committees.


2017-2018 Officers



Chris Keller, Chair
Lytal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath
West Palm Beach
  Carter Scott, Chair-Elect
Searcy, Denney, Scarola, Barnhart & Shipley
  Cassidy Perdue, Secretary
Colling Gilbert Wright & Carter

Heather Freeman Jones, Chair
Anderson & Anderson
  G.C. Murray, Jr.
FJA Deputy General Counsel
Young Lawyers Section Staff Liason


2017-2019 Board Directors



Heather Barnes
The Yerrid Law Firm, P.A.
  Amanda Dunn
Rywant, Alvarez, Jones, Russo & Guyton
  Peter Hunt
LaBovick LaBovick & Diaz
Palm Beach Gardens

Alan Perez
Mallard Law Firm
  Daniel Vazquez
Morgan & Morgan, PLLC


2018-2020 Board Directors



Elizete Velado
Goldberg & Noone, LLC
Fort Meyers
  Ian Kirtman
Gold & Gold, P.A.
Boca Raton
  Kim Wald
Kelley Uustal, PLC
Fort Lauderdale

Patrick McArdle
Grossman Roth & Partridge, P.A.
  Peter Tragos
Law Offices of Tragos, Sartes & Tragos, P.L.


2018-2019 At-Large Board Directors


Christopher Madden
Wesley, McGrail & Wesley
Fort Walton Beach
  Jason Fagnano
Domnick Cunningham & Whalen, PLLC
West Palm Beach
  Jason McIntosh
Lyal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath, LLP
West Palm Beach

Nicholas Gurney
Newsome Melton
  Shane Newlands
Paul Knopf Bigger
  Silvia Amador-Brett
Florida Vanguard Attorneys, LLC

Stefano Portigliatti
Coker Law
  John C. Curry
Christopher Ligori & Associates
  Julian J. Catala
Grossman Roth & Partridge, P.A.
Coral Gables
  Jordan A. Dulcie
Searcy Denney Scarola Barnhart & Shipley, P.A.
West Palm Beach