Young Lawyers Section


Are you under 36 years old? Have you been in practice less than 11 years? Whether you’re just starting out or you’ve been in practice for a few years, this Section allows you to network with other young attorneys and gain needed insight and perspective from your colleagues. The FJA Young Lawyers Section is actively involved in the FJA’s goals of protecting the civil justice system. Section membership also provides many opportunities to network on a statewide level. 

Section Updates

The FJA Young Lawyers Section (YLS) is continuing to grow strong! The new 2017-2018 Chair, Heather Jones, and the YLS Board met in Orlando for their annual Young Lawyer Board Retreat. At the Retreat, the Board continued its progress on existing projects such as the Mock Trial Competition,Young Lawyer Lobby Days, and the Young Lawyer Task Force. The Board is also moving forward on more Young Lawyer focused CLE events; look out for information on our Sea & Ski seminars. Come be a part of the amazing changes in the Young Lawyers Section. Whether it is on the Young Lawyer ListServ, the Facebook Discussion Group, or in one of the Young Lawyer committees there are several ways to be active. To learn more about the YLS, contact FJA Special Counsel, G.C. Murray, Jr.

Board Retreat Recap:
1. Mock Trial Competition takes place November 4-5, 2017 in Orlando
2. Young Lawyer Lobby Days are January 22-26, 2018
3. All members should reach out to your young lawyer friends who are not FJA members, our local YL Task Force events are perfect for prospective members.
4. There is plenty of work to go around! Congratulations to the YL Board Committee appointments below. Reach out and let them know if you want to help with their committees.

Leadership

2017-2018 Officers

 
 
 
 
   
Heather Freeman Jones, Chair
Anderson & Anderson
Tampa
heather@tgalaw.com
  Chris Keller, Chair-Elect
Lytal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath
West Palm Beach
ckeller@foryourrights.com
  Carter Scott, Secretary
Searcy, Denney, Scarola, Barnhart & Shipley
Tallahassee
CWS@SearcyLaw.com
 


     
Jonathan Gilbert, Immediate Past Chair
Colling, Gilbert, Wright & Carter
Orlando
JGilbert@thefloridafirm.com
  G.C. Murray, Jr.
FJA Deputy General Counsel
Young Lawyers Section Staff Liason
gcmurray@floridajusticeassociation.org
 

 

2016-2018 Board Directors

 
 
 
 
   
Michael Brevda
Senior Justice Law Firm
Boca Raton
Michael@SeniorJustice.com
  Ryan Fogg
David J. Halberg, P.A.
West Palm Beach
RFogg@halberglaw.com
  Elizabeth Munro
Vanguard Attorneys
Tampa
elizabethm@vanguardattorneys.com
 


     
Cassidy Perdue
Colling Gilbert Wright & Carter
Orlando
CPerdue@thefloridafirm.com
  Ben Whitman
Clark, Fountain, La Vista, Prather, Keen & Littky-Rubin
West Palm Beach
bwhitman@clarkfountain.com
 

 

2017-2019 Board Directors

 
 
 
 
   
Heather Barnes
The Yerrid Law Firm, P.A.
Tampa
hbarnes@yerridlaw.com
  Amanda Dunn
Rywant, Alvarez, Jones, Russo & Guyton
Tampa
ADunn@RywantAlvarez.com
  Peter Hunt
LaBovick LaBovick & Diaz
Palm Beach Gardens
phunt@labovick.com
 


     
Alan Perez
Mallard Law Firm
Sarasota
Alan@MallardLawFirm.com
  Daniel Vazquez
Fine, Farkash & Fine, Farkash & Parlapiano, P.A.
Gainesville
dvazquez@ffplaw.com
 

 

2017-2018 At-Large Board Directors

 
 
 
 
   
Matt Carrillo
Carrillo & Carrillo
Gainesville
mattcarrillo@gmail.com
  Jaeson Homola
Barrett, Fasig & Brooks
Tallahassee
jaeson@tallahasseepersonalinjury.com
  Michael Kalil
Law Offices of John S. Kalil, P.A.
Jacksonville
mkalil@akjaxlaw.com
 


 

 
 
 
   
Ian Kirtman
Gold & Gold, P.A.
Boca Raton
ikirtman@goldlawpa.com
  Patrick McArdle
Grossman Roth & Partridge, P.A.
Sarasota
psm@grossmanroth.com
  Jason McIntosh
Lyal, Reiter, Smith, Ivey & Fronrath, LLP
West Palm Beach
jmcintosh@foryourrights.com


 

 
 
 
       
Fay Pappas
Bailey Fisher, PLLC
Winter Park
fay@baileyfisherlaw.com
  Peter Tragos
Law Offices of Tragos, Sartes & Tragos, P.L.
Clearwater
petertragos@greeklaw.com
  Elizete Velado
Goldberg & Noone, LLC
Fort Meyers
elizetevelado@goldberg-law.com
  Kim Wald
Kelley Uustal, PLC
Fort Lauderdale
klw@kulaw.com

 

2016-2017 Special Appointments


     
Sue-Ann Robinson
Florida Bar Young Lawyers Division
Robinson Caddy Law Group
Fort Lauderdale
  Mallory Widgren
Women's Caucus
King & Markman, P.A.
Orlando